PSCB Recruitment

PSCB Recruitment

Cricket World Cup Winners List From 1930 To 2018 – Australia Wins 2023 World Cup

The ICC Men’s ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List has been a pinnacle event in cricket history. It began in 1975 with the West Indies emerging as the inaugural champions. Over the years, various teams have showcased their skills and passion for the game, with Australia, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England among the victorious nations. Most recently, in 2023, Australia once again claimed the coveted title by defeating India in the final, adding to their rich history of World Cup victories. The tournament has seen thrilling moments and has been a platform for cricketing legends to shine.

Whatsapp Channel
Telegram channel

Cricket World Cup Winners List

The ICC Men’s World Cup 2023 took place in India from October 5th to November 19th, with Australia winning the final against India by 6 wickets. Australia stands as the most successful country in World Cup history, having won the tournament 6 times. They achieved a historic feat in 2007 by becoming the first team to win three consecutive World Cups. India and West Indies are the only two nations to have won the World Cup twice each, with India’s victories in 1983 and 2011 and West Indies’ triumphs in 1975 and 1979. The previous 50-over World Cup in 2019 was secured by England. TheCricket World Cup Winners List of One Day Cricket World Cup winners is as follows:

Cricket World Cup Winners List
  1. 1975: West Indies
  2. 1979: West Indies
  3. 1983: India
  4. 1987: Australia
  5. 1992: Pakistan
  6. 1996: Sri Lanka
  7. 1999: Australia
  8. 2003: Australia
  9. 2007: Australia
  10. 2011: India
  11. 2015: Australia
  12. 2019: England
  13. 2023: Australia

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List

The Men’s 50-over ODI Cricket World Cup has seen several thrilling competitions since its inception in 1975. Notable champions include West Indies, India, Pakistan, Australia, and Sri Lanka. Australia has been the most successful team And ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List

Cricket World Cup Winners List (ODI)
1975EnglandWest Indies291–8Australia274West Indies won by 17 runs
1979EnglandWest Indies286–9England194West Indies won by 92 runs
1983EnglandIndia183West Indies140India won by 43 runs
1987India and PakistanAustralia253–5England246–8Australia won by 7 runs
1992Australia and New ZealandPakistan249–6England227Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996Pakistan and IndiaSri Lanka245–3Australia241Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999EnglandAustralia133–2Pakistan132Australia won by 8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustralia359–2India234Australia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesAustralia281–4Sri Lanka215–8Australia won by 53 runs
2011India and BangladeshIndia277–4Sri Lanka274–6India won by 6 wickets
2015Australia and New ZealandAustralia186–3New Zealand183Australia won by 7 wickets
2019England and WalesEngland241New Zealand241–8The Match tied after regular play and super over and 
England won on a boundary count
2023IndiaAustralia India240Australia won by 6 wickets

Australia Wins Cricket World Cup 2023

The ICC ODI Cricket World Cup 2023 certainly sounds like it was a thrilling tournament! Here’s a summary of the key highlights you mentioned:

  • Winner: Australia won the ICC ODI Cricket World Cup 2023, defeating India in the final match held at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, India, on November 19, 2023.
  • Final Match Details: India batted first and set a target of 240 runs. Australia successfully chased this target in 43 overs with the loss of 4 wickets.
  • Star Performer: Australian opener Travis Head was named the Man of the Match in the final. He scored an impressive 137 runs off 120 balls, including 15 fours and 4 sixes.
  • Individual Achievements: An Indian batter scored the most runs in the tournament, while India’s pacer Mohammed Shami took the most wickets, with a total of 24 wickets in 7 matches.
  • Semi-Finals: The first semi-final saw India defeating New Zealand by 70 runs in Mumbai on November 15. The second semi-final was between Australia and South Africa in Kolkata on November 16, where Australia emerged victorious by 3 wickets.

These highlights showcase the intense competition and high skill level of the teams and players involved in the tournament.

Cricket World Cup Winners List: Results by Country

TeamFinal AppearancesWinnersRunnersYears WonYears Runners
Australia7621987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015, 20231975, 1996
England41320191979, 1987, 1992
India3221983, 20112003, 2023
New Zealand2022015, 2019
Sri Lanka31219962007, 2011
West Indies3211975, 19791983

Leave a Comment